2024 Triple Crown Race Dates

The Kentucky Derby
Churchill Downs - May 4, 2024
The Preakness Stakes
Pimlico - May 18, 2024
The Belmont Stakes
Saratoga - June 8, 2024

Triple Crown FAQ

These are the most Frequently Asked Questions about the Triple Crown Races.

Q. What races make up the Triple Crown of horse racing?

A. The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness Stakes, and The Belmont Stakes.

Q. When are the Triple Crown Races?

A. The Kentucky Derby is held on the first Saturday in May.    The Preakness is held 2 weeks later on the third Saturday in May.  And The Belmont Stakes are held in June, 3 weeks after The Preakness.

Q. What is the longest Triple Crown race?

A. The Kentucky Derby is 1 1/4 mile or 10 Furlongs.  The Preakness is slightly shorter than the Derby at 1 3/16 mile or 9.5 Furlongs.  And the final leg, and longest race, is The Belmont Stakes at 1 1/2 miles.

Q. Who was the last Triple Crown winner?

A. After a 37 year drought, American Pharoah won the 2015 Triple Crown.  He was ridden by jockey Victor Espinoza.  Prior to that, the last horse to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed.  The year was 1978 and he was ridden by Steve Cauthen.

Q. How many Triple Crown winners have there been?

A. Since 1919 there have been 12 Triple Crown winners.  22 times a horse has won the first two races.

Q. Has a jockey ever won more than one Triple Crown?

A. Yes.  Eddie Arcaro won in 1941 on Whirlaway and again in 1948 on Citation.  He is the only jockey to win multiple times.