2019 Triple Crown Race Dates

The Kentucky Derby
Churchill Downs - May 4, 2019
The Preakness Stakes
Pimlico - May 18, 2019
The Belmont Stakes
Belmont Park - June 8, 2019

The Kentucky Derby

“The First Jewel in the Triple Crown”

“The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports”

“The Run for the Roses”

Twin SpiresThe Kentucky Derby is known by many names but one thing is certain… to have a shot at the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Horse Racing YOU MUST win the Kentucky Derby.

For most horse racing fans the derby is a day long affair of mint juleps, classy to crazy hats, and celebrating the beginning of May. But for the horse owners, the Kentucky Derby is the first step to see if their 3 year olds can go all the way.

Location: Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky

Distance: 1 1/4 miles (2km)

Date: 1st Saturday in May

Kentucky Derby Traditions

With over 140 years of history there has been plenty of time to develop a few traditions.

The Garland of Roses

Roses have been a part of the Kentucky Derby since 1896.  In 1925 the race received the nickname “Run for the Roses”.  Today the winning jockey is presented with a bouquet of 60 roses and the winning horse is draped in a garland of roses made with over 400 red roses on a backing of green satin.

Hats at The Kentucky Derby

The ladies of Churchill Downs have taken the southern tradition of wearing fancy hats to the next level.  From simple to outrageous and everything in between the wearing of festive hats is synonymous with the Kentucky Derby.

Mint Juleps

For over 100 years the Mint Julep has been the traditional cocktail of the Kentucky Derby.  More then 100,000 are served at Churchill Downs each derby weekend and probably millions more are served at derby parties around the world (I know I’ve had my share :).

Old Forester Kentucky Bourbon is the official bourbon of the Derby Julep although we prefer Maker’s Mark.

Kentucky Derby Winners

Here are the most recent winners.

Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2016 Nyquist Mario Gutierrez Doug O’Neill
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
2014 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman
2013 Orb Joel Rosario Claude McGaughey III
2012 I’ll Have Another Mario Gutierrez Doug O’Neill
2011 Animal Kingdom John Velazquez H. Graham Motion
2010 Super Saver Calvin Borel Todd Pletcher

See the full list of Kentucky Derby Winners

The Ultimate Guide to the Races of the Triple Crown
© 2007-2019 Triple Crown Races. All Rights Reserved.