2022 Triple Crown Race Dates

The Kentucky Derby
Churchill Downs - May 7, 2022
The Preakness Stakes
Pimlico - May 21, 2022
The Belmont Stakes
Belmont Park - June 11, 2022

The Preakness Stakes

“The Second Jewel in the Triple Crown”

“The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans”

Preakness RaceThoroughbred horse racing comes to Maryland on the third Saturday in May each year for the second and shortest leg in The triple Crown the Preakness Stakes. This week-long celebration concludes at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore and determines if there will be a Triple Crown contender for the year.

The winner of the Kentucky Derby will square off against some familiar faces as well as some new ones as the best three year old horses go at it in The Preakness Stakes.

[box]Location: Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland

Distance: 1 3/16 miles (1.91km) [Shortest Triple Crown race]

Date: 3rd Saturday in May[/box]

Preakness Traditions

The Preakness has been running since 1873.  Many traditions have taken root during the race’s long history.

The Woodlawn Vase

The Woodlawn Vase is presented each year to the owner of the Preakness winner.  The vase was made in 1860 by Tiffany and Company.  Prior to 1953 the actual vase was awarded and kept by the owner until the next Preakness.  Today a sterling silver replica goes to the winning owner while the original remains on display at The Baltimore Museum of Art.

Black-Eyed Susan (The Cocktail)

The official drink of The Preakness is the Black-Eyed Susan.  Here is the recipe: 1.5 oz Vodka, .5 oz St. Germain, 2 oz Pineapple Juice, 1/4 oz Lime Juice, and 3/4 oz Orange Juice.  Garnish with an orange slice and a cherry.  Cheers!

Preakness Winners

Here are the most recent winners of The Preakness Stakes.

Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2016 Exaggerator Kent Desormeaux Keith Desormeaux
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
2014 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman
2013 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas
2012 I’ll Have Another Mario Gutierrez Doug O’Neill
2011 Shackleford Jesus Castanon Dale Romans
2010 Lookin At Lucky Martin Garcia Bob Baffert

See the full list of Preakness Winners.