2024 Triple Crown Race Dates

The Kentucky Derby
Churchill Downs - May 4, 2024
The Preakness Stakes
Pimlico - May 18, 2024
The Belmont Stakes
Saratoga - June 8, 2024

American Pharoah – 2015 Triple Crown Winner

The 12th winner of the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Horse Racing was American Pharoah.  The 37 year drought was ended when Victor Espinoza grabbed the 3rd jewel of the Triple Crown at Belmont.

American Pharoah

American Pharoah also became the first horse to win the “Grand Slam” when he won the Breeder’s Cup Classic later in 2015.

American Pharoah was foaled on February 2nd, 2012.  He was sired by Pioneer of the Nile.

The American Pharoah Stakes was named for the Triple Crown Winner in 2018. The race is run each year in the fall at Santa Anita Park. It is held for 2 year old horses as part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby qualifying races.