2024 Triple Crown Race Dates

The Kentucky Derby
Churchill Downs - May 4, 2024
The Preakness Stakes
Pimlico - May 18, 2024
The Belmont Stakes
Saratoga - June 8, 2024

The Belmont Stakes

“The Third Jewel in the Triple Crown”

“The Test of The Champion”

Belmont Park

2 down 1 to go – can we crown a new champion? The Belmont Stakes is the oldest of the Triple Crown races. This third and final leg is contested three weeks after the Preakness and five weeks after the Kentucky Derby. If the same horse has won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness the Belmont Stakes becomes the biggest race of the year and Belmont Park becomes a madhouse on race day.  Twenty three (23) times a horse has arrived with a chance at the Triple Crown but only eleven (11) times has a horse been able to wrap it all up in New York.

Location: Belmont Park in Elmont, New York

Distance: 1 1/2 miles (2.4km) [Longest Triple Crown race]

Date: In June – 3 weeks after The Preakness

Belmont Stakes Traditions

The Belmont Stakes is the oldest of the three Triple Crown races.  It was first run in 1867.

Blanket of Carnations

White carnations are the official flower of the Belmont Stakes.  They symbolize love and luck.  The winning horse gets draped with a blanket made of 700 white carnations.

Belmont Jewel (The Official Drink)

Belmont Official Drink

We’re not really sure if this is a tradition yet but the Belmont Jewel is now the official drink of the Belmont Stakes.  In 2012 the Belmont Jewel took over the title from the Belmont Breeze which took over the title from the White Carnation in 1998.

The Belmont Jewel is a simple concoction… 1.5 oz Woodford Reserve Kentucky Bourbon, 2 oz lemonade, and 1 oz pomegranate juice.  Shake vigorously with ice and serve on the rocks. Garnish with maraschino cherry or lemon twist.

Recent Belmont Stakes Winners

Here are the winners of last ten The Belmont Stakes.

 Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2024DornochLuis SaezDanny Gargan
2023ArcangeloJavier CastellanoJena Antonucci
2022Mo DonegalIrad Ortiz Jr.Todd Pletcher
2021Essential QualityLuis SaezBrad Cox
2020Tiz the LawManny FrancoBarclay Tagg
2019Sir WinstonJoel RosarioMark E. Casse
2018JustifyMike SmithBob Baffert
2017TapwritJose OrtizTodd Pletcher
2016CreatorIrad Ortez, Jr.Steve Asmussen
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob Baffert

See the full list of Belmont Winners since 1867.