2024 Triple Crown Race Dates

The Kentucky Derby
Churchill Downs - May 4, 2024
The Preakness Stakes
Pimlico - May 18, 2024
The Belmont Stakes
Belmont Park - June 8, 2024

Oxbow Wins the 2013 Preakness Stakes

An overcast day in Baltimore foreshadowed a gloomy race for Orb.  Once again there will be no Triple Crown winner as the overwhelming favorite and Kentucky Derby winner Orb was never in contention.

50 year old jockey Gary Stevens let Oxbow run the race as the horse took an early lead and never let up in an easy win in the 138th Preakness Stakes.

Trainer Wayne Lucas now has 6 Preakness wins and Gary Stevens got his 3rd victory at Pimlico.  The victory gave Stevens three wins in each of the Triple Crown races.

Oxbow went off at 15-1 while the favorite Orb was 3-5.

Female jockey Rosie Napravnik rode Mylute to a 3rd place finish.  Itsmyluckday came in 2nd closing strong at the end but he just ran out of track.